FREE admission every Thursday, every week from 10AM-8PM, courtesy of PNC Foundation.


Canton POS

Home / Content / Canton Ceramic Artists Guild /

Canton Ceramic Artists Guild

The Canton Ceramic Artists Guild was founded in 1974 by a group of dedicated potters committed to the advancement of the Museum's ceramics program. The Guild meets once a month, to organize their volunteer hours, plan upcoming sales, and share ideas and techniques.


Members in this service organization promote pottery education by volunteering their time and knowledge to fire the CMA students' artwork, maintain the Pottery Shop classroom, and demonstrate pottery techniques to both children and adults. Guild members also volunteer their time to help with special projects at the museum, such as creating handmade items for auctions, openings, and other events.


Guild members participate in two sales each year, the Christkindl Markt and the May Sale. Portions of the proceeds from these sales are used to help purchase additional pottery shop equipment, sponsor workshops for local artists, and purchase works for the CMA's Permanent Collection.


Each year the Guild also participates in the "Empty Bowls for Hunger" program, with each member donating handmade soup bowls. All proceeds from the sale of these bowls are donated to the Stark County Hunger Task Force. Bowls may be purchased at the May Sale.


Membership in the group is by application. Applications are available by contacting Paulette Bartenstein at


Examples of the guild members' artwork can be seen in this gallery.


President: Frank Susi
Vice President: Walt Allen
Treasurer: Sandy Robitz
Secretary: Paulette Bartenstein
Shop Manager: Kim Eggleston-Kraus


Active Members:
Diann Adams
Walt Allen
Paulette Bartenstein
Mary Bobersky
Kim Eggleston-Kraus
Donna Elliott
Judy Ford
Jan Jordan
Idris Kabir Syed
Laura Kolinski-Schultz
Sandy Robitz
Bill Shearrow
Frank Susi
Cassandra White


Apprentice Members:
Ryan Osborne
Maddy Bacher
Teresa Marinakis


In-Active/Sustaining Members:
Jack Rogers
Judy Prazak
Patricia O’Neill Sacha
Patty Sheppard
Judy Sterling


Honorary Member:
Sari Sponhour 

Donate Today